General Information

Geography - Information / Introduction


Peru is geographically divided in 3 natural regions: Coast, Highlands and Jungle. By its surface (1 285 215 km²), Peru is the third country of South America after Brazil and Argentina. Located between Ecuador and 18th degree latitude south, belongs to the intertropical zone. The country is divided in three great geographic regions: to the west, on the coast of the Pacific Ocean, a narrow desert strip seeded of populated oases; a central mountainous region, the Peruvian mountain range or the Andes (around 30 % of its territory), conformed by mountain ranges whose summits are to more of 6.000m of altitude and an extensive plateau, the Andean Plateau; finally, to the east the forest plains and the hills of the amazonian river basin that occupy 60 % of the territory.

Location: Western South America, bordering the South Pacific Ocean, between Chile and Ecuador.
Comparative Area: Slightly smaller than Alaska
Weather: Several from tropical in the east to dry and desert in the west
Land: Coastal plain to the west, high and rocky Andes to the center, high lands in the east of the forest of the Amazon River basin.
Natural Resources: Cobre · Silver · Golden · Petroleun · Wood · Fish · Iron mineral · Caroal · Phosphates · Potash.
Natural Dangers: Earthquakes, tidal waves, floods, landslides, smooth volcanic activity.
Singularity: Shared control with Bolivia of the Titicaca Lake, the higher navigable lake of the world, with Bolivia.